BFF Mini Album

Happy Friday Everyone! Today I have asked my sweet friend Kelly to show her awesome mini album. As soon I saw it finished I just knew I had to show it here. Kelly is really meticulous and precise when she crafts and so her projects turn out so perfect. If only I had that patience!! I hope you enjoy her lovely work.

Hi everyone! I’m somewhat new to scrapbooking, and I have Shonie to thank for getting me hooked on it. What intrigued me the most all the mini albums she made. When she showed me the book Outstanding Mini Albums, I wanted to make every one of them! The one I loved the most was the Envelope Pocket Album. I decided to create an album of happy thoughts for one of my best friends and fill it with positive quotes and peaceful pictures that she could look at whenever she was feeling blue.

The tutorial in the book suggested using coin envelopes and covering them with pretty papers, but I did one better and made a template out of chip board and made the envelopes out of the paper. Sadly, I didn’t take any pictures while I was putting it together, but I can at least give you some instruction on how I created the envelopes. (Don’t worry, there are pictures of the completed project at the end!)

I made a template out of a coin envelope I had lying around. I didn’t create a flap to close the envelope (since the book tells you to cut it off anyway.) I then adapted the template to get the most number of envelopes out of a 12×12 sheet of paper. (The total is 4, in case you’re wondering.)

I then cut out 4 envelopes from 4 different papers and folded them using my Score Buddy. I used some double sided tape to tape the envelope closed and to tape them together (as per the instructions in the book).

I inked the edges of the envelopes BEFORE taping them together.

After taping all the envelopes together, I created the shell of the album with chipboard and using the dimensions in the book. I hadn’t purchased a magnet to close the book at that point, otherwise I would have glued it on before adding the paper. I ended up using a purse magnet and putting a button cover over the facing edge of the magnet to pretty it up. The purse magnet turned out better than the other magnet I would have used because it clicks together and is stronger than the magnets used in the book.

Front

Back

I also added some paper trim and stamped a swirl on the cover using my perfect pearls, and of course, I inked the edges.

Once the album was complete I got down to the business of making the tag inserts. My envelopes were just over 2 inches by 4 inches, so I cut out tags measuring 2×4 out of my Mariposa and Happily Ever After stacks (by DCWV).

I glued 2 tags together to make a front and back, and then I got to work embellishing them with pictures, quotes, glitter, and anything else I could find that was pretty and would bring a smile to my friend’s face.

The picture of Dori (From Finding Nemo) was one that my friend had painted as part of a mural on someone’s kitchen wall. She gave me access to her online album, so I printed off some of her pictures to make the album more personalized.

I used a tiny stapler to attach the ribbon with different colored staples and used tiny brads to attach some of the other elements to give them some dimensional interest.

I printed a few sunset pictures she took in Ecuador along with a picture of her dancing and having a great time at a party. I loved these pictures, and I know she does too.

It took me a while to get everything together, but I was very happy with the finished product. And my friend loves her mini album!

Thanks for letting me share my album with you!

Shonie here again. Isn’t that the cutest album?! The pictures just don’t even do it justice! I think we’ll be seeing more of Kelly here (I hope!).

Have a great weekend!

Shonie

About photosglitterglue

I'm an domestic engineer (housewife) to two furry kids and a great hubby. I love photography and scrapbooking. I enjoy taking pictures of my family, especially my adorable nieces. I love to put glitter on my scrapping pages (and everything else!). My other interests are reading and gardening. I also spend a large amount of my time serving Jehovah God by studying the Bible and teaching others about the hope it holds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BFF Mini Album

  1. Cara says:

    Such a great album! Thanks for sharing. I know your friend will love it!

  2. alexa says:

    These are very pretty – love the ribbons on the top of the tags too …

Leave a Reply

